11.25 LegCo Kowloon West By-election – All You Need to Know

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Legislative Council Kowloon West By-election will take place on Nov 25. Varsity has prepared a series of graphics, explaining all you need to know for this by-election.

The Kowloon West Constituency consist of three districts, namely Sham Shui Po, Kowloon City and Yau Tsim Mong District. It has the least number of Registered Electors – 487,160 – among all the constituencies.

Let’s look at some major developments of the by-election during the past month.

The nomination period started on Oct 2, on which Labour Party’s Lau Siu-lai, former ADPL member Frederick Fung Kin-kee and independent Chan Hoi-yan submitted their nominations.

On Oct 12, Lee Cheuk-yan, another member from the Labour Party, submitted his nomination. Hours later, Lau Siu-lai was barred from the by-election.

The nomination period came to an end on Oct 15, with two more candidates – independent Ng Dick-hay and Judy Tzeng submitting their nominations.

On Oct 26, five candidates were validated and confirmed eligible to stand for the by-election.

So who are these candidates and what are their political affiliations?